Embassy of Algeria , Tokyo, Japan

about algeria |

Home Contact us Print


Locate Algeria on Google maps.

Algeria (Arabic: Al Jaza'ir), officially the People's Democratic Republic of Algeria, is the largest country on the African continent and the 10th largest country in the world in terms of total area. It is bordered by Tunisia in the northeast, Libya in the east, Niger in the southeast, Mali and Mauritania in the southwest, the Western Sahara in the west, Morocco in the northwest, and the Mediterranean Sea in the north.


Qassaman: the Pledge; came into being during the Algerian war for independence.

The lyrics were written by Moufdi Zakaria (1908-1977)in 1956 in Serkaji-Barberousse Prison in Algiers, where he was incarcerated by the colonial forces. The poem was put into music, first by Mohamed Triki in 1956, then by the Egyptian composer Mohamed Fawzi.

It became the National Anthem after the independence of Algeria on July 5th 1962.

Lyrics in Arabic

Music notes

Transliteration / Translation

Instrumental Full version


Capital (and largest city)

  • Algiers (3 million inhabitants).

Official language

  • Arabic

National languages

  • Arabic and Amazigh


  • Algerian

Government (Presidential Republic)

  • President: Abdelaziz Bouteflika
  • Prime Minister: abdelmalek SELLAL
  • The Council of Ministers is chaired by the President of the Republic.
  • The Council of Government is chaired by the Prime Minister.

The Parliament: bicameral

  • The Council of the Nation / Speaker : Mr. Abdelkader BENSALAH
  • The National People's Assembly / Speaker : Mr.Mohamed Larbi OULD KHELIFA


  • Revised in 1996 and a further amendment adopted in 2002 and 2008.

Economic system

  • Market economy


  • Hammadid dynasty: from 1007
  • Ottoman rule: from 1518
  • French rule: from 1830
  • Independence from France: July 5, 1962


  • Total: 2,381,741 km2 (11th) 919,595 sq miles
  • Water (%): negligible


  • 2012 estimate: 37.1 Million
  • 2008 census: 34,080,030
  • Density: 14/km2 (196th) 36/sq miles

GDP (PPP) (2012 estimate)

  • Total: $263.6 billion (47th)
  • Per capita: $8,655 (2011 est.) (92th)

GDP (nominal) (2012 estimate)

  • Total: $206.5 billion (46th)
  • Per capita $5,523 (89th)

Gini (1995)

    35.3 (medium)

HDI (2007)

    +0.698 (medium) (96th)


  • Algerian dinar (DZD)

Weights and Measures

  • The MKSA (Meter, Kilogram, Second, Ampere) system.

Time zone

  • CET (UTC+1), throughout the year.

Eletric power

  • 220V, 50Hz, plug type C and F.

Internet TLD

  • .dz

Calling code

  • +213


Public holidays

  • New year's day: January 1st.
  • Labor Day: May 1st.
  • Independence Day: July 5th.
  • Anniversary of the Revolution: November 1st.

Religious holidays

  • Eid-al-Fitr, Eid-al'-Adha, Awal Mouharem, Achoura, Mawlid En Nabaoui Echarif.

Religious holidays are based on the lunar calendar and so the date is varying every year.


Algeria is currently divided into 48 provinces (wilayas), 553 districts (dairas) and 1,541 municipalities (communes, baladiyahs). Each province, district, and municipality is named after its seat, which is mostly also the largest city.

According to the Algerian constitution, a province is a territorial collectivity enjoying some economic freedom. The People's Provincial Assembly is the political entity governing a province, which has a president, who is elected by the members of the assembly. They are in turn elected on universal suffrage every five years. The Wali (Prefect or governor) directs each province. This person is chosen by the Algerian President to handle the PPA's decisions.

The administrative divisions have changed several times since independence. When introducing new provinces, the numbers of old provinces are kept, hence the non-alphabetical order. With their official numbers, currently (since 1983) are shown in the table below.

1. Adrar2. Chlef 3 Laghouat4. Oum el-Bouaghi5. Batna6. Bejaia
7. Biskra8. Bechar9 Blida10. Bouira11. Tamanghasset12. Tebessa
13. Tlemcen14. Tiaret15 Tizi Ouzou16. Algiers17. Djelfa18. Jijel
19. Setif20. Saida21 Skikda22. Sidi Bel Abbes23. Annaba24. Guelma
25. Constantine26. Medea27 Mostaganem28. M'Sila29. Mascara30. Ouargla
31. Oran32. El Bayadh33 Illizi34. Bordj Bou Arreridj35. Boumerdes36. El Tarf
37. Tindouf38. Tissemsilt39 El Oued40. Khenchela41. Souk Ahras42. Tipasa
43. Mila44. Ain Defla45 Naama46. Ain Temouchent47.hardaia48. Relizane
About Us | Contact Us | ©2008 The Embassy of Algeria, Tokyo, Japan. All rights reserved.